You are here

Opinion

Opinion - 24 September 2022

Parliament House, Tasmania

2022 Tasmanian Greens’ State Conference; Leaders' Address

Hello fellow Greens from all corners of this beautiful island lutruwita/Tasmania and welcome to the Tasmanian Greens’ Covid-safe State Conference for 2022. 
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Political Leadership


Opinion - 11 January 2022

Doctor with Face Mask

We Can't Be Complacent About COVID

Greg Barns’ attempted character assassination is intellectually lazy and out of touch with the deep fear and anger being felt by the vast majority of Tasmanians
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: COVID-19


Opinion - 8 December 2021

Man testing water in a river.

'Water is Life' - Mercury Talking Point

Given our dependence on fresh water, you’d think its careful management would be a top government priority. Unfortunately, that’s not the case.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: River Health, Water Quality, Derwent River, TasWater


Opinion - 1 May 2021

Parliament House, Tasmania

Greens Leader Cassy O'Connor MP Election Night Speech

On behalf of everyone who worked so hard on this campaign, I want to warmly thank every Tasmanian who put their trust in us today. We will not let you down.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Political Leadership


Opinion - 13 March 2021

Parliament House, Tasmania

Keynote Address - Greens State Conference

Keynote Address - Greens State Conference
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags:


Opinion - 8 January 2021

Parliament House, Tasmania

US Chaos Reinforces Fragility of Democracy

Frenzied Trump supporters storming the US Capitol - in what can only be described as a violent insurrection - has shaken the foundations of democracy worldwide.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Democracy


Opinion - 10 November 2020

Pile of Woodchips

Forest Furnaces Are Not Renewable Energy

In a climate emergency, we have a scientific and moral imperative to decrease our carbon emissions to slow down the planet’s warming.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Biomass, Native Forest Logging


Opinion - 12 October 2020

House of Assembly, Tasmania

Why Truth Should Still Matter in Politics

To be a Minister of the Crown is a great honour and enormous responsibility. It requires the highest standard of integrity and honesty.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Misleading Parliament, Ministerial Accountability, Tenant Rights, Parliament


Opinion - 12 June 2020

Chinese Flag

Tasmania must resist influence and reduce reliance on China

Two news items in the past week should be a wake-up call to any remaining doubters that Tasmania is far too heavily dependent on China.
Cassy O'Connor MP  |  Tags: Democracy, Trade, China, Chinese Communist Party, Education, UTAS, COVID-19, Foreign Influence


Opinion - 2 June 2020

Legislation, Clause Being Highlighted

Major Projects Legislation

The ongoing fight against exploitation has involved countless instances of communities pushing back.
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP  |  Tags: Major Projects, Aboriginal Tasmanians, Environment, Planning, COVID-19


Opinion - 15 April 2020

Mental Health, Man on Couch

Coronavirus - We're all in this Together

It’s a strange time for all of us. We’re coming to terms with fundamental changes to daily life and how the world operates.
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP  |  Tags: COVID-19, Community Safety, Community, Mental Health, Health


Subscribe to Tasmanian Greens MPs - Media Releases